MGM 2021

Mid-European Geomorphology Meeting 2021: Nov. 6-10,  München

November 6.-10.2021

Mid-European Geomorphology Meeting:
Austria and Switzerland are engaged in the scientific organising committee with their national presidents Prof. Jan-Christoph Otto (A) and Prof. Cristian Scapozza (CH) and are partner countries in the meeting.

Hybrid Conference:
We are planning a hybrid conference with people attending in person but also virtually. We are prepared to also switch to a virtual conference if a hybrid mode becomes impossible.

A: 6./7. Conference in Munich at the TUM, 8./9. Post conference field trip
Plan B: 6./7. Pre-conference field trip; 8.-10. Conference in Raitenhaslach

Optimistic Assumption & Flexibility:
Vaccination is successfully accomplished in Germany, Austria and Switzerland until end of September according to the governmental plans and scientific meetings are again allowed. The present situation requires flexibility in terms of planning details and modi.

Field Trip:
Pleniglacial and lateglacial geomorphology around the Ammersee, Drumlin cluster Eberfing, Preserved lateglacial Geomorphology Osterseen and Andechs, Lateglacial Lake Development and development of Mid-Europes largest peat bog Murnauer Moos, Glacial Trough Valley Formation Oberau/Garmisch, Multiphase rock slope failure and avalanche Eibsee, Alpine Hazards and Karst Wetterstein Mountains, Glaciers an Permafrost at the Zugspitze.

following soon…

Scientific Sessions:
following soon…

Organising committee:
Local organising committee at TUM:
Michael Krautblatter, Stephanie Schaidhammer, Ben Jacobs, Theresa Frimberger, Johannes Leinauer, Doris Hermle

International scientific organising committee:
Jan-Christoph Otto (Head Geomorph. AT, U. Salzburg), Cristian Scapozza (Head Schweizerische Geomorphologische Gesellschaft, U. Lugano), Michael Krautblatter (TUM, Head AK Geomorphologie), Sabine Kraushaar (U. Vienna), Markus Fuchs (U. Gießen), Elisabeth Dietze (AWI), Wolfgang Schwanghart (U. Potsdam), Andreas Lang (U Salzburg), Jan Blöthe (U. Freiburg), O. Sass (U. Bayreuth), Micha Dietze (GFZ Potsdam), Bertil Mächtle (U. Heidelberg), Julia Meister (U. Würzburg), Johannes Buckel (TU Braunschweig), Kirstin v. Elverfeldt (U. Klagenfurt), Stephanie Tofelde (U. Potsdam).